Don't have an account? Create one!

How to read tabs.

AuthorMessage
threads
Shotgun Sinner
threads
June 12th, 2007 at 06:51am
Shelbinwa:
its an okay tutorial, but you should explain in more proper musical terminology and further explain what a lot of it means. It sticks with people a lot better that way, and then they don't become lazy and only look at tabs.
-sigh-

I'm not a schooled musician, because it costs.
This is for the schooled musicians that feel lost when they see tabs.

You missed something. This is a tab tutorial, not a music tutorial.

Also, please don't give me the proper music theory bullshit.
ain't got no soul.
Salute You in Your Grave
ain't got no soul.
June 12th, 2007 at 10:13pm
Wyayhahha. I've been playing guitar for a couple days and I cannot read tabs worth shit. I'm sure this will help. I picked out the starting of Toxicity and Number Five With A Bullet but I suck really bad..

Thanks!
ain't got no soul.
Salute You in Your Grave
ain't got no soul.
June 12th, 2007 at 11:36pm
Oh. Sorry. Double Post. Okay, don't laugh cause I've only been at this for a couple days but... What is the difference between tabs and chords? Tabs are easier to read, I don't understand chords at all. I wanna play rythym........ Sorry.. I'm a n00b.
threads
Shotgun Sinner
threads
June 13th, 2007 at 05:58am
Chords as in the letters above the lyrics?

Then you have to learn the chords to be able to recognise them. You can buy chord books. They don't cost much.
threads
Shotgun Sinner
threads
June 14th, 2007 at 05:31am
Chords are more than three notes played at the same time.
Tabs is just the system to show what you play.

So this is a tab of the chords C and G:

e|-x--3-|
B|-1--0-|
G|-0--0-|
D|-2--0-|
A|-3--2-|
E|----3-|

There are also so called powerchords (MCR mostly play these kinds of chords.

This is a tab of the powerchords C and G.
e|------|
B|------|
G|------|
D|-5----|
A|-3--5-|
E|----3-|

I hope this clarifies it, for everyone. =]
yellow
Joining The Black Parade