Don't have an account? Create one!

Teenage Depression

AuthorMessage
Mindfuck
Always Born a Crime
Mindfuck
October 18th, 2009 at 09:34pm
^Try telling someone with long term clinical depression to just put their "mind over matter" and suck it up. That's the general idea I got from your post. I can just tell that wouldn't work for most depressed people.
thank fsm.
In The Murder Scene
thank fsm.
October 20th, 2009 at 06:34pm
"Mind over matter" is the whole idea behind going to any kind of mental therapy rather than taking medications, and I am in agreement with THAT idea, so...

I'm...sure that there are times when medication is necessary but even though I'm no expert, I know most cases can be helped with professional mental guidance.
xxtoryxx
Killjoy
xxtoryxx
October 25th, 2009 at 10:15pm
i think that because of the hormones it might make it a little harder, although from personal experiences i do believe there is teenage depression. Also the people who have been depressed before both have been treated with a plethora of medds, but i do think that depression can be resolved without professional assistance. if you have family support, and friend support then it might make it a lot easier. Also from personal experience i no for a fact that people including tanagers can be pulled out of depression with help form a loved one, friend, or even someone they don't even no very well.
arthur pendragon.
Crash Queen
arthur pendragon.
October 27th, 2009 at 05:03pm
I think...I'm not sure if I believe teenage depression exists. From experience, i've seen a lot of people who claim they are, but really are being very very melodramatic and letting their hormones get entirely too involved.
But on another note different people feel things differently? And react to different circumstances differently. I was told by my counselor that it isn't a situation that that affects us, it's our reaction to it.