Don't have an account? Create one!

Guitar Picks

AuthorMessage
LifeOnStandby
Motor Baby
LifeOnStandby
July 25th, 2007 at 11:48pm
I'm still a beginner at guitar, I'm a slow learner. Just recently I've gone through my first picks (fender mediums) and went out to get some more.

I bought a cheap pack to try out, because they had small/medium/large.

I can't really understand the differences between medium/large. One is longer, the other is just a bit fatter...and is easier for me to keep a good grip of. I strum too hard to play with the small pick... it bends too much for comfort.

So I was just wondering what types of picks and sizes everyone uses. Does size matter? Does brand and cost of picks matter? Are picks just whatever floats your grip?
threads
Shotgun Sinner
threads
July 26th, 2007 at 12:53am
Dunlop 0,96mm, pink, blank.

They're nice to play with. Thick enough for pinch harmonics and not breaking the strings.
Megan Vegantoast
Bleeding on the Floor
Megan Vegantoast
July 26th, 2007 at 06:42am
I use start Jazz guitar picks even though I don't play jazz. I don't know how thickit is.. but its the thickest of the brand.

I like the fact that the thinner, narrower tip makes it glide over the strings effortlessly and its really good for solos because its faster at picking.
Silverstein
Bleeding on the Floor
Silverstein
July 26th, 2007 at 10:49pm
I use 0.72 (or so, they're red) Brain picks. The surface is rough for gripping.
Lounge Fly
Bleeding on the Floor
Lounge Fly
August 3rd, 2007 at 12:26pm
I use a Dunlop 0.71mm pick. I don't have a preference though; it was just the only one in the store when I bought them.
genresR4losers
Motor Baby
genresR4losers
August 11th, 2007 at 10:44pm