Don't have an account? Create one!

Mental Disorders

AuthorMessage
bloodredruby69
Banned
bloodredruby69
March 8th, 2007 at 01:38am
bust a move!:
I really, really don't want to flame anyone, but I have to make this point.

Thoughts do not cause disorders. Disorders cause thoughts.

I would actually have to disagree with you there.
I'm aware that disorders cause thoughts, I'm not disagreeing with that,
but if a person has a set way of thinking, say, mentally berratting themselves
for years, or always thinking that they are not as good as other people,
in otherwords, they have a habit of self-destructive thinking, it can lead
to mental disorders.

The road runs both ways, in this instance.
Rhys Webb
Awake and Unafraid
Rhys Webb
March 8th, 2007 at 10:29am
sometimes i think i am bipolar. you would have to know me long enough to agree, though...
Beeblebrox
Really Not Okay
Beeblebrox
March 8th, 2007 at 11:46am
Years ago, I used to be a pharmacy tech. I would give prescriptions to parents for their kids, because they had ADHD. What I found was the majority of kids didn't really have a disorder. The kids I saw were simply happy, excited kids whose parents gave them candy full of sugar (which made him hyper) to shut them up and then they ran to the doctor for meds to calm them down and make them docile. They didn't want to deal with chatty, playful and active children, so they asked for a prescription to basically tranqulize their kids. Now they have a quiet, calm and depressed kids. I've seen dozens of them, all medicated because their parents don't want to deal with them.

That's not to say ADHD doesn't exist, it definitely does. My friend Eric was a true textbook case if there ever was one. He could not make it through one class without getting up and wandering off. But I would say 90% of the kids on meds for ADHD are misdiagnosed. It's very sad.
Rhys Webb
Awake and Unafraid
Rhys Webb
March 8th, 2007 at 04:23pm
Beeblebrox: