Don't have an account? Create one!

The Death Sentence.

AuthorMessage
Fezzik
Salute You in Your Grave
Fezzik
January 3rd, 2007 at 10:35pm
(Note: Am a total noob. Just stumbled across this and the AP history student in me is desperate to reply)

I think the important issue here is: are you willing to run the risk that the person who is executed is innocent? I definitely am not.

Yes, it is a tremendous tax expense. Which is why I think money should be put into preventing crime. Obviously, you're still going to have the regular sociopaths out there who crop up in every population, but if you could eliminate (even partially eliminate) the prisoners being housed for drugs, gang-related violence, robberies, etc, it would greatly lessen the money needed to run the prisons - plus, all those pyscho killers could be kept closer watch on, so they wouldn't escape [woot!].

Oh, and that whole "well what if someone murdered someone you loved" defense: an extremely important part of the United States justice system is that the jury be impartial. Because it's the "justice" system, not the "crazy irrational greif-driven revenge" system. Also, hasn't anyone seen The Interpreter?

Plus: Executed people can often be seen as martyrs, like John Brown, the Harper's Ferry guy. [civil-war related burn!] Which would only strengthen the commitment of whatever fanatical group he/she is representing, which would lead to more violence.
domeofstars
Thinking Happy Thoughts
domeofstars
January 4th, 2007 at 01:11am
I don't agree with it. Mainly, because the person won't be suffering for what they did.
one less sad robot.
Demolition Lover
one less sad robot.
January 5th, 2007 at 07:10am
i think death sentence is not the right way to punish criminals. i would just put murderers to the solitary confinement
for the rest of their lives, i think that would be way worse than dying. and killing people is always wrong.
Schuey4Life
Killjoy
Schuey4Life
January 5th, 2007 at 08:43am