Don't have an account? Create one!

Teenage Depression

AuthorMessage
The?!Society
Fabulous Killjoy
The?!Society
March 27th, 2008 at 04:07pm
I think that when you're a teenager, it's super hard to tell whether you're depressed or just normal. I've heard so many adults say how much better life got when they got out of the teenager years. Life is getting so 'effin hard for teenagers...maybe every teenager has depression!
differant.
Shotgun Sinner
differant.
March 30th, 2008 at 02:51am
i think teenage depression is something people just brush off lightly. it should be taken much more seriously.
if we dont act on it when we can, we may never get the chance.
stac-renee
Killjoy
stac-renee
March 31st, 2008 at 03:36pm
I have been a nurse for a while and I can tell you that teens have hormonal changes that cause them to be moody, depressed, and overreactive. this will go away as they grow however some of this can be a chemical imbalance in the brain. it helps to know if anyone in their family has been treated for depression at any time.
it can be treated by talking to someone they know and love IF IT IS SITUATIONAL DEPRESSION NOT A CHEMICAL IMBALANCE. if the depressive episode become prolonged or the person is a danger to theirself or others they should see a doctor ASAP
vampirate516
Fabulous Killjoy
vampirate516
April 2nd, 2008 at 05:31pm
yes, some teenagers can be overreactive or just sensitive, or whatever you want to call or describe it. HOWEVER i personally believe, that just like anyone else, teenagers can and are depressed. and theres nothing wrong with that becuase its pratically a part of life and everyone gets depressed at one point in time. yes, some people do take it to the extreame which is unnesesary but for those of us who are depressed just cant help it.