Smoking cigarettes

AuthorMessage
Little Miss Bad
Killjoy
Little Miss Bad
August 5th, 2007 at 11:51pm
i smoked for like 2 days
but now i really don't like it
my "friends" they smoke a lot i can't stand a minute near them cuz they stink like hell x]
Cigarettes And Suicide
Bleeding on the Floor
Cigarettes And Suicide
August 6th, 2007 at 01:49am
I smoke. I've tried repeatedly to quit, but I just can't seem to go through with it. Now, I've quit taking drugs, quit drinking alcohol, no problems. But cigarettes? I never make it past 24 hours without a nicotine hit - and yes, I've tried patches, gum, knitting, everything that's ever been suggested. I just can't do it.
I've been smoking for nearly ten years now (since I was 12) and as far as my doctor can tell, I'm about as healthy as the next person. I just can't run long distances anymore, but even if I didn't smoke I probably wouldn't be able to because I don't play sport or do much physical activity anyway, and seeing as how I don't NEED to run long distances, I don't see why it's important. I'm alive, I'm breathing, I'm otherwise fine.

One thing pisses me off about being a smoker - I try to be as considerate as possible with my habit, and shy away from doing it in public places where others might be offended (with the exception, of course, of nightclubs etc before the smoking laws were brought in). I don't go around telling other people how to live their lives, but for some strange reason, perfect strangers feel they have every right to walk up to me and say things like, 'Smoking's such a filthy habit,' or 'You should quit, don't you know that smoking will kill you?'
OMG, really? Because, you know, I've been hiding under a rock for the last 20 years - I had no idea smoking caused things like emphysema, cancer, strokes, etc. Thanks for pointing that out to me!